VIRGINIA H. SHANAHAN for Mayor

Dauphin Island: Honesty, Integrity, Transparency

Ask Virginia: I work for the town. I have been told you are going to fire everyone and start over. Is that true?

I am so glad you asked me this question. You are not the first Town employee who has contacted me with that concern. I understand the fear of the unknown. I understand the anxiety of having a new boss. It makes me sad and disappoints me greatly that this unnecessary worry has been placed on your shoulders.

The answer to your question is an unequivocal, “No, if elected, I do not plan to terminate anyone. ” The following lists some reasons for my position:

1. No Town employee has any cause to fear for his/her job as long as they are performing satisfactorily. As I campaign for mayor, I am working under the assumption that all Town employees are doing a good job. As a result, I have given no thought to terminating any employee. If anyone tells you otherwise, they are spreading a false rumor and I encourage you to contact me directly on my cell phone 402-0709 if you still have concerns.

2. Our Town is fortunate to have some amazing, skilled, and dedicated workers. To randomly terminate employees would adversely affect Town functions and destroy the morale of our remaining workforce. One of my goals as mayor will be to boost and maintain employee morale. As mayor, I will instill pride in our workforce and the various tasks they perform. I believe employees should feel comfortable and secure in their employment so long as they accomplish their jobs in a safe and efficient manner.

3. Each Town employee is not a nameless or faceless individual. Each one may be the head of a family with responsibilities to support, feed, and provide housing. I could never be so unfeeling as to lightly make a decision to terminate someone and place his/her well-being and livelihood in jeopardy. For that to occur, there must be just and significant cause.

4. It is not practical, as well as being unprofessional, to consider firing all employees. As your prospective mayor, I would also be a member of the “Town’s Team”, charged with the responsibility and authority given to me by the electorate, to serve faithfully and honestly in managing the affairs of the Town. It will require a team effort to make things run smoothly, and I consider each Town employee a major part of our team.

I hope I have answered your question and put your fears to rest, and feel free to contact me.

Information

This entry was posted on May 29, 2012 by in Uncategorized.